Five Prayers

Fard, Wajib, Sunnah, and Nafl, the four types of Islamic prayers

In Islam, prayers, commonly known as salat or namaz, are an essential form of devotion. In Islam, several forms of prayers are offered for various purposes and rewards. It's critical to comprehend each of these sorts, as well as the proper approach to provide them. They are nothing but a means of communicating with Allah, thus purpose and wudu are essential while offering salah or prayer in Islam.

In Islam, prayer is regarded as the highest form of worship and the most effective means of expressing Allah's obedience. In Islam, distinct prayers are connected with a set of unique laws and restrictions, such as times, frequency, and orientation. Muslims can use these prayers to show their love, respect, and thanks to Allah, the Almighty. In Islam, there are four types of prayers: Fard (obligatory prayers), Wajib (mandatory prayers), Sunnat, and Nafl (voluntary prayers). Let's take a closer look at each of these.

Fard refers to the obligatory prayers:

Every Muslim must do Fard, or compulsory prayers, according to all Sunni schools. Every day, Muslims are recommended to perform five compulsory prayers. Failure to observe these prayers on a daily basis might result in a person being labeled a sinner or a non-Muslim. The following are the five compulsory prayers:

1. Fajr

Salat al-Fajr, commonly known as the morning prayer, consists of four rakahs (units), two of which are compulsory and two of which are Sunnah. Sunnah rakahs are done first in the morning prayer, followed by the compulsory rakahs.

2. Zuhr

Salat al-Zuhr is a 10-rakah afternoon prayer that includes four compulsory rakahs and six Sunnah rakahs. The four Sunnah rakahs are done first in the afternoon prayer, followed by four compulsory rakahs, and two final Sunnah rakahs.

3. Asr

Salat al-Asr, often known as the late afternoon prayer, consists of eight rakahs. The Sunnah rakahs are completed first, followed by the four compulsory rakahs.

4. Maghrib

The sunset prayer, also known as Salat al-Maghrib, consists of five rakahs. The three compulsory rakahs are performed first, followed by the two Sunnah rakahs.

5. Isha

Salat al- ‘Isha, or night prayer, is performed by first reciting the four Sunnah rakahs, then the four compulsory rakahs, and finally the two last Sunnah rakahs.


Wajib prayers are needed or mandatory in some situations:

Wajib prayers are also required, and failing to do so is considered a sin. Anyone who inadvertently misses a Wajib prayer does not have to present it as a Qada, or missing prayer offering. The following are the Wajib prayers:

• Salat al-Witr:

This prayer, which consists of three rakahs, is offered every day after the night prayer.

• Salat-al-Eidain, or the Festival Prayers:

It has two Eid Ul-Adha rakahs and two Eid Ul-Fitr rakahs.


Sunnah Prayers:

Sunnat or Sunnah is the third of the four forms of prayers in Islam. Sunnah prayers, which were offered by Prophet Muhammad (PBUH), are required in addition to mandatory prayers. Sunnah prayers are considered mandatory by all jurists, and willfully failing to do them is forbidden. Sunnah prayers include the following:

  • Two rakahs before Salat al-Fajr.
  • Salat al-Zuhr is preceded by four rakahs and followed by two rakahs.
  • Salat al-Maghrib is followed by two rakahs.
  • Salat al-Isha is followed by two rakahs Sunnah.
  • Sunnah prayers are divided into two categories: those said before or after compulsory prayers and those performed on their own. So, in the first category, there are Sunnah's of everyday routine prayers and exceptional Friday prayers. Tarawih – between Isha and Witr during Ramadan; Tahajjud – between Isha and Fajr prayers; Duha – an hour after/before sunrise/highest point of Sun; Awwabin – between Maghrib and Isha; and Wudu – after ablution.



    Although Nafl, or voluntary prayers, are conducted for added virtue, skipping them is not considered a sin. It is considered that the larger the number of Nafl prayers performed, the greater the prize and praise will be. There are several different Nafl prayers, such as:

    • Tahajjud:

    Salat at-Tahajjud, also known as late-night prayer, is the most beneficial of the Nafl prayers since it is performed in the middle of the night. After Salat al-Isha, the Tahajjud prayer methodology entails completing an even number of rakahs.

    • Ishraq:

    It's a Nafl prayer that takes place between 20 and 45 minutes after daybreak.